RSS Feed

Super cut out cookies

Posted on

I decided to make cookies for yesterday’s game. I hunted all over for a football cookie cutter, but I guess I waited too long, because last weekend I couldn’t find a single one. I finally found a set with football themed cutters; a ball, a pennant, a jersey and a helmet. Rather than just make plain colors or just using the football, I decided to go a little overboard.

This is Kate style. Take an idea and go to extremes. So I did Super Bowl cookies…

Referee shirts, yellow and black pennants, footballs and helmets with not just the team colors, but the Green Bay Packers and Pittsburgh Steelers logos too. I vote that next time, the Browns go to the game, to make it easier for me…

I used Martha Stewart’s cookie recipe and her recipe for royal icing, which I lifted from Vintage Mixer’s blog.

  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 lb. (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 tbsp of brandy or apple juice (I used milk, since I didn’t have brandy or juice)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Sift together the dry ingredients. Cream together your butter and sugar until light and fluffy; add the rest of your wet ingredients – egg, brandy, and vanilla and beat well. Add the dry ingredients gradually and mix well until blended. Wrap and chill the dough for at an hour before rolling.

Over the years with different cut out recipes, I’ve found that 2 hours in fridge and 20 minutes back on the counter makes the perfect temp to roll your dough.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Flour your surface (or use powdered sugar if you don’t want your cookies to get too dry) and roll out one third of the dough at a time. Roll to about 1/8 inch thick and cut out with cookie cutters. Put shapes on parchment lined baking sheets and bake for 8-10 minutes, depending on the size of the cookie. Cool on racks. Decorate with Royal Icing.

Royal Icing

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 egg white*
  • 3 or 4 drops of freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Food Coloring – I prefer the Wilton gels, liquids change the consistency of your icing.

Mix the sugar, egg white, and lemon juice in a small bowl until smooth and creamy. It should have the consistency of heavy cream (you may need to add a bit more sugar or lemon juice). Add desired amount of food coloring.
*You can substitute dried egg whites / meringue powder.

One response »

Leave a Reply

