RSS Feed

turkey rice soup with rosemary

Posted on

I had a turkey breast in the freezer left from Christmas. I had made an extra one and never cooked it. I figured I better use it before it got freezer burned.

I decided soup would be a good idea.

 

 

 

  • cooked turkey breast – cubed
  • 1 c. rice
  • sprig of fresh rosemary
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 3 celery spears, chopped, including leafy tops
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, grated
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves

I sautéed the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil until translucent and a bit browned. I added the veggies and cooked for another few minutes. Adding the rice and herbs and stirring well to incorporate. Stirring in the stock came next, then I covered the pot and let it simmer for 30 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste and remove bay leaves. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

